You are here

Dylan Kerrigan

Sunday, February 15, 2015
It has become impossible today to describe Carnival as a festival of national inclusion—as some once did. That said, there are still some long-established aspects that continue to shine through.
Sunday, February 1, 2015
A common complaint I hear informally from some graduates at the UWI concerns the disconnect between what they know and the jobs they get or are offered.
Sunday, January 18, 2015
According to anthropologist Barbara King, one alternative to the 2014 Merriam-Webster Dictionary word of the year “culture” is “privilege.”
Sunday, January 4, 2015
​Any list of troubles in our local Police Service would include excessive use of force, blurred lines between police and military, an intense focus on policing the poor, failure to police the wealthy
Sunday, December 21, 2014
​Now this might upset you. It might even provoke memories of Scrooge himself.
Sunday, December 7, 2014
​In Wednesday’s Guardian there was a piece about the life story of Clyde Haynes.
Sunday, November 23, 2014
​In political theories of social change like Marxism, understanding who the “lumpen” are and how cultures of dependency define them, provides one answer for why fundamental social change is so hard to
Sunday, November 9, 2014
​One of the many hats lecturers wear at the UWI and many other tertiary institutions is the role of graduate supervisor for MSc, MPhil and PhD research.
Sunday, October 26, 2014
​In 1986 sociologist Ulrich Beck published Risk Society. In it he described a new world where risks become globalised.
Sunday, October 12, 2014
​Listening to local radio shows, reading the newspapers, and talking to colleagues and friends it is clear chikungunya (ChikV) is dominating the popular consciousness regionally and also knocking peop

Pages