You are here

Mark Wilson

Sunday, February 28, 2016
​“I’ve already promised to eat my sweaty football sock if the JLP win,” said a Jamaica journalist on Tuesday. On Thursday night, he was checking out recipes.
Sunday, February 21, 2016
​It’s been a busy week in Caracas, and the weeks look like they’ll get busier as the year progresses. The opposition majority in the National Assembly—elected in December and sworn in since January—i
Sunday, February 14, 2016
​“One Big Party” ran the Jamaica Observer’s front page splash last Wednesday.
Sunday, February 7, 2016
While we celebrate Carnival, Jamaicans are gearing up for a February 25 election. The Almighty, in his Jamaican incarnation, apparently has no problem with a Lenten campaign.
Sunday, January 31, 2016
​Since last year’s election, the currency is down ten per cent against the US dollar. The Government and Central Bank have said almost nothing about it. The media have barely noticed.
Sunday, January 17, 2016
​Stock markets are sliding. Oil is hovering close to US$30. The PM’s residence is stuffed with Grey Goose. David Bowie is gone. But let’s do St Vincent and the Grenadines.
Sunday, January 10, 2016
​OK, let’s start with the interview. Chris Gayle faces a burly Aussie male interviewer, somewhat bigger than he is, and gay. Live and on-air, Gayle gets told: “That’s the reason why I’m here.
Sunday, December 27, 2015
It’s a great time for conscious music. There’s the Christmas tradition for me, as an Anglican atheist, that starts with Nine Lessons and Carols from King’s College Cambridge on BBC streaming radio.
Sunday, December 20, 2015
​It’s been a big week for climate change—half a step forward, and two steps back. Start with the good bit.
Sunday, December 13, 2015
​OK, so we’ve now seen Episode One, Second Series. Last Sunday’s election gave Venezuela’s opposition a hefty two-thirds majority in their National Assembly.

Pages