You are here

Calypso Queen title goes to Tobago

Wednesday, February 1, 2012
Second placed winner and recently-crowned 2012 Star of Tomorrow, Jermeeka Mundy, goes through her selection at Monday’s event.

The 2012 National Calypso Queen title has gone to a Tobago-based calypsonian. Fire Empress (Lornette Nedd-Reid) won the 28th edition of the competition, hosted by the National Women’s Action Committee ((NWAC), at the National Academy for the Performing Arts (NAPA), Port-of-Spain, on Monday night. She was one of two contestants from the sister-isle and appeared in the penultimate position among the 17 contestants on the playbill. singing a selection, titled Woman, in which she espoused the virtues of being female, and pointed to the important role women played in all aspects of life.


Placing second was recently-crowned 2012 Star of Tomorrow Jermeeka Mundy doing her composition, Free Yuhself, while Terri Lyons captured the third spot with an uptempo rendition of her contribution, titled Cyah Stop Moving. A common feature on the programme, and one that has grown considerably over the years, was the liberal use of theatrics and props by the contestants to complement their songs. Their efforts, however, were overshadowed, in most instances, by a lack of microphone technique that, coupled with too loud musical accompaniment, made discerning their lyrics an almost futile exercise. Minister of The Arts and Multiculturalism Winston Peters delivered the feature address in which he complimented NWAC for “empowering women by giving them a voice on the calypso stage,” resulting in every female calypsonian becoming the voice of every woman.


Awards were presented to educator and veteran All Stars pannist Denise Hernandez and Chutney and Pichakaree singer/radio announcer Asha Kamachee for their contributions to the cultural landscape. Musical accompaniment was provided by Earl Knight and Brass Services. Making a guest appearance was the Reflex Dance Company with a youthful showcase of limbo-dancing. Other placings to 12th position were:
• 4th — Sonia Francis — They Still Around;
• 5th — Leslie Ann Ellis — Mothers and Others;
• 6th —  Natasha Nurse — Curfew Breakers;
• 7th — Bridgette Creese (Joy C) — Life’s No Disaster;
• 8th — Sandra Forson (Ifa Sayo) — Freedom
• 9th — Marion Paponette — Armageddon War;
• 10th — Vornique Benjamin — Counting Heads;
• 11th — Joanne Foster — No Return; and
• 12th — Germaine Sanchez (Sister Virtue) — Parenting.


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.