You are here

T&T nationals get awards in UK

Sunday, October 7, 2012
T&T High Commissioner to the UK Garvin Nicholas, left, with award recipient Danielle Delon and Mrs Nicholas at the Gala Independence Jubilee Awards in London.

Trinidad and Tobago Independence Jubilee celebrations continued in London with a recent gala dinner for distinguished nationals at the Royal Garden Hotel in Kensington. Hosted by Trinidad and Tobago High Commissioner Garvin Nicholas, the occasion also recognised the contribution of citizens who made a positive contribution to the promotion and development of Trinidad and Tobago in the United Kingdom during the last 50 years.  Awards were granted to nationals in the area of governance and politics, business, academic, sports, service to the government, and the community.

But it was the arts that drew the largest number of awards. Danielle Delon, currently resident in Trinidad, is editor of The Letters of Margaret Mann. Speaking after receiving her award, she said: “I am very pleased that the book, produced and printed in Trinidad in collaboration with the National Museum and Art Gallery has proven to be of importance to scholars and historians internationally.” It is a collection of letters written by a young British woman to her parents back home during the mid-1880s. It also features watercolours done in the style of her art tutor, Michel Jean Cazabon, which form part of the National Museum’s national collection. The book is one of the rare female accounts of Caribbean life at that time and is available to researchers at the Bodleian Library at Oxford University. Delon’s next literary projects include a history of local food starting several years BC, and the 50th Anniversary Defence Force Book to commemorate the creation of the country’s military services after Independence. Delon is also the director of the annual children’s literary festival, run by the NGC Bocas Lit Fest, which promotes reading and writing among the young.
 List of Awardees
Governance and Politics 
Baroness Floella Benjamin OBE 
Councillor Julie Mills   
Dounne Alexander MBE, FRSA, 
Charles Inskip Max Baden-Semper 
Prof Andrew Ramroop OBE
Ansel Wong 
Prof Heidi Safia Mirza  
Laura Denise Ramsay
Outstanding Service to the Community
Isabella Birbal
Kameel Khan
Mohammed Rasheed Khan
Rev Canon John Metivier
Suresh Rambaran
Jacqueline Sealey 
Gulsie Suleman
Outstanding service to the Government of T&T
Jukka Ant-Wuorinen
Kaufmann Bernd Listner
Kurt Brusgaard
Rolf Holmen
Howard M S Kroch
Ingo Meyr
The Arts
Sterling Betancourt
Sonny Blacks
Danielle Delon
Russell Henderson
CSI Steelband 
Dexter Khan 
Neil Latchman
Althea McNish CMT, Hon. DFA (UTT)
Greta Mendez
Lincoln Rahamut
Clary Salandy 
Marina Salandy-Brown, DLitt (hc), FRSA
Ronald Samm 
Rudolph Walker OBE


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.