You are here

Caribbean’s Olympic medallists to receive Sunshine awards

Wednesday, October 10, 2012
Keshorn Walcott


Olympic Gold medallist Keshorn Walcott is among the group of Caribbean athletes who won medals at the London Olympics who will receive Sunshine Awards in New York this month. The 24th edition of the programme will be staged on October 27, at the AXA Equitable Center in New York City and will be dedicated to the 50th anniversaries of Independence of Trinidad and Tobago, and Jamaica. Founder of the Sunshine Awards programme Gilman Figaro said: “This year, we celebrate not only the talented exponents of the various countries but also the milestone of 50 years of Independence for Trinidad and Tobago, and Jamaica. This milestone invites us not only to reflect on the progress we have made since 1962, (progress in the performing arts, sports and education—all of which contribute to human development and a civilized society) but also to confront the challenges of the future.
Nominees for the 2012 Sunshine Awards are:
• Usain Bolt, Yohan Blake, Kemar Bailey-Cole, Nesta Carter, Michael Frater, Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce of Jamaica for winning gold medals at the 2012 Summer Olympics; 
• Keshorn Walcott of Trinidad and Tobago for winning the 2012 Summer Olympics javelin gold medal;
• Kirani James of Grenada, the reigning 400 metres world champion and gold medallist of the 2012 Summer Olympics—winner of Grenada’s first Olympic medal;
• Felix Sanchez of the Dominican Republic, 400m hurdles gold medallist;
• Chris Brown, Demetrius Pinder, Michael Mathieu, Ramon Miller of the Bahamas for winning the relay gold medal in men’s 4×400 metre relay at the 2012 Summer Olympics;
• Monty Alexander of Jamaica, world-renowned jazz musician, will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award for 50 years of contribution to the performing arts;
• Martin Vejarano and the La Cumbiamba NY, Colombian Woodwind, Brass and Drums Assembly of Colombia for their contribution to the performing arts and Colombian culture;
• Dr Prince Ramsey and Rawdon Edwards of Antigua, for their contribution to the performing arts;
• Makerere University of Uganda, Africa for its research and development of the Nevirapine, an antiretroviral drug that cuts perinatal HIV transmission rate; 
• The Universal African Dance and Drum Assembly of the United States for their contribution to African dance;
• Gina Faustin of Haiti, for her contribution to the performing arts and Haitian culture;
• Professor Brinsley Samaroo, historian, author, teacher and researcher of Trinidad and Tobago for the Dr Basil Matthews Sunshine Award for his contribution to education in T&T and beyond.
Nominees for the 2012 Sunshine Awards Hall of Fame are:
• Malcolm Corrica (Lord Canary) of Guyana for his contribution to calypso music;
• Merle Albino-DeCoteau of T&T for her contribution to the performing arts;
• Regeneration Now of T&T for their contribution to calypso music;
• Bert Innis (deceased) of T&T for his contribution to Caribbean music;
• Randolph “Baba” St Louis of T&T for his contribution to Steelband music.
• Dr Hollis Liverpool, co-founder of the Sunshine Awards Hall of Fame and chairman of the Nomination Network Committee,  said: “The fact that the Sunshine Awards Organisation can look with favour and fervour on the athletes of the Caribbean along with other performing artistes, shows how much the organisation recognises the role that sports and the arts have played and continue to play in human development in the Caribbean. In the absence of a relevant Caribbean body of sports, the Sunshine Awards Organisation has taken up the slack and is to be complimented.”
Tickets can be reserved by calling 201-836-0799 or by fax 201-836-4440 or on the Sunshine Awards web site at


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.