You are here

Caledonia, W Connection, Defence Force advance

Wednesday, March 7, 2012
TTFF FA Trophy Tournament


Caledonia AIA, W Connection and Defence Force all recorded victories in the TTFF FA Trophy to advance to the quarterfinal of the tournament after the Round of Eight concluded, on Sunday. A 38th minute Shahdon Winchester’s strike separated W Connection and Adam’s Construction San Juan Jabloteh as the former team advanced with a 1-0 win at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva. Caledonia AIA, went level with T&TEC (who are at the helm of the TT Pro League) on Friday. They required penalties to advance, which they did 4:3, at the expense of North East Stars at the Larry Gomes Stadium, Arima. Caledonia struck first through national attacker Devorn Jorsling in the 65th minute, before Anthony Wolfe put North East Stars on level terms. In the other match, Defence Force was made to work for its spot in the quarterfinal after a nail-biting 3-2 win over Police at the Mannie Ramjohn Stadium, Marabella. Pro League and Defence Force lead goal-scorer, Richard Roy netted a double, while Josimar Belgrave grabbed the other vital goal, which put Defence Force through.
Police, however, opened with a Trent Noel strike in the 13th minute. The lead lasted less than 60 seconds when Roy gave Defence Force the equaliser. The “Tetron Boys” then found themselves in front through Belgrave in the 35th minute, as in the first half, the lead was short lived as Noel found his second item of the match just four minutes later. The two teams were deadlocked at 2-2, going into the final minutes, when Roy bagged his second of the match and the match-winner for Defence Force in the 84th minute. The victories put Defence Force, Caledonia and W Connection into the quarterfinal, where they will join OJ Soldado, Secondary Schools’ Football League’s Scarborough Secondary, Super League clubs WASA FC and Joe Public, as well as St Francois Nationals. The draw for the quarterfinal round will take place today at Harvard Sports Club, Tragarete Road, from 2.30 pm. The next round of matches will be played on Sunday.