You are here

Walcott, Baptiste in line for track and field sweep

Friday, March 22, 2013
First Citizens Sports Foundation Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year Awards

Track and field nominee Olympic men’s champion Keshorn Walcott is the overwhelming favourite to cop his first First Citizens Sportsman of the Year award at Queen’s Hall, St Ann’s, later today. 


The 19-year-old created history becoming T&T’s second Olympic gold medallist when he won the men’s javelin title at the 2012 Olympic Games in London, England. 


The Toco-born thrower upset a quality field in London to take the gold with a national record of 84.58m to come the youngest ever winner of the event. 


His track and field female counterpart Kelly-Ann Baptiste is going for her second award after she became the first local woman to qualify for an Olympic finals, finishing sixth in the 100m finals in London. 


Baptiste would cop the 2011 accolade after she sped to bronze in the World Outdoor Track and Field Championships in Daegu, South Korea.


The race for the Sportsman award seems clear-cut but there were several other outstanding male performers in 2012 including swimmer George Bovell III and spinner Sunil Narine, Njsane Phillip (cycling) and 2010 winner Roger Daniel (shooting), are strong contenders to make the top ten. 


Bovell, after missing out on a medal in the men’s 50m finals at the London Olympics made up for the disappointment to finish second overall in the men’s rankings at the World Cup. 


He capped the year with a bronze in the men’s 100m individual medley at the FINA World Short Course Champs in Istanbul, Turkey, to win this country’s first ever medallist at the meet. 


Narine captured the ICC Emerging Player of the Year award and named Player of the Series in the West Indies’ 4-1 one day international series win over New Zealand. 


The 24-year-old also grabbed nine wickets in helping the West Indies win the ICC World Twenty20 Championships in Sri Lanka last October. Phillip missed out a medal in the match sprint in London, finishing fourth. 


Among the ladies, T&T and West Indies cricket captain Merissa Aguilleira, Kennya Cordner (football) and Krystle Esdelle (volleyball) lead the contenders to be named in the top ten. 


Aguilleira led the regional side to the semifinals of the ICC Women’s World Twenty 20 champs and T&T to the runner-up spot in the West Indies Twenty20 tournament. 


Full list of nominees



Keshorn Walcott
Kelly-Ann Baptiste


Rahul Rampersad    
Virginia Chariandy-Balwant

Kelton Thomas    
Trishanti Rocke


David Hackshaw


Ryan Harper
Javanna Smith


Sunil Narine
Merissa Aguilleira


Njisane Phillip


Khaleem Hyland
Kennya Cordner


Talin Rajendranath


Darren Cowie
Blair Wynne


Brian Boodramsingh


Nicholas Acevero
Nickita Xavier


Anastascia Wilson


Carlos Greene


Adrian Brown
Roxanne Lee


Cristian Bourne


Wayne Kelly
Alesha Bruce


Andrew Lewis


Roger Daniel
Marsha Bullen-Jones


Joshua Pinard
Charlotte Marie Knaggs


George Bovell III
Sharntelle McLean


Dexter St Louis
Rheann Chung


Andrew Lee

George Vire
Neela Cezair


Yohansey Williams
Yolande Leacock


Ancil Greene


Fabien Whitfield
Krystle Esdelle


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.