You are here

Lara Youths repeat as Mayaro champs

Tuesday, April 16, 2013
Lara Youths celebrate their round-robin victory at the launch of the 2013 bpTT Mayaro Windball Night Cricket League on Saturday. Sharing in the triumph are Matthew Pierre, left, community liaison officer, bpTT, and Rene-Marie Wilson, manager, Mayaro Resource Centre.

Lara Youths retained their round robin championship title when the bpTT Mayaro windball night cricket League launched its 2013 season at the Mayaro Government School Ground on Saturday.


In the final played before an appreciative crowd, Lara Youths, led by Javon Pavello, beat Terminal Strikers by five runs, scoring 23 in the three-over match and restricting their opponents to 18.


Captain Pavello praised the all-round teamwork of the players, who are all under 18 years of age, for the victory. “We take our inspiration from the great Brian Lara; that is why we named the team after him,” he added.


A total of 17 teams—male and female—participated in the launch, with first-timers Mayaro Police Youth Club capturing the male title in the march past and ZNS Construction Crew taking the female crown.


Now in its 14th year, the Mayaro league is sponsored by BP T&T and organised by the Mayaro/Guayaguayare Unemployment Organisation and Concerned Citizens (MGUOCC). The facilities at the ground received a major facelift recently with the refurbishment of the stands and installation of new lights. The work was done through the on-going volunteerism efforts of bpTT’s Mohagany B platform team.


Rachael Caines, bpTT Communications and External Affairs Challenger, said the company was proud to be associated with the night cricket since it was an important tool for building community spirit and discipline among the youths. “We look forward to enjoying the fruits of your hard work throughout the season,” she told the players.


Caines, Matthew Pierre, community liaison officer, bpTT, and Akinola Straker, First Vice President, MGUOCC, took the march past salute of the teams which were all smartly attired.


March Past Results:

Male: Champions – Mayaro Police Youth Club; Runners-up – Lara Youths; 3rd – Rest House

Female: Champions – ZNS Construction Crew; Runners-up – Bomb Squad; 3rd – Newlands Warriors