You are here

Triumph wins Community Ballers T20

Thursday, April 18, 2013
Dave Bobb, director of sports in the Ministry of Sport, speaks at the closing ceremony.

Triumph emerged men’s champion in the Ministry of Sports Community Ballers Showdown T20 eight-a-side windball cricket competition on April 7, at the Garden Village Recreation Ground. 


Triumph topped Five Rivers United by six wickets in the final. This followed Combined Forces’ three-wicket win over Tamana United in the women’s final. 


Five Rivers batted first and made 61/4 in its allotted ten overs. In reply, Triumph put on 51 for the first wicket, making the runs easily to walk away with the $4,000 first place prize and trophy while Five Rivers claimed $3,000 for the runner-up spot.


Kane Farm took home the third place prize of $2,000 after beating Oropune by eight wickets. Kane Farm batted first and made 125 in their 10 overs while Oropune was dismissed for 41. Oropune received $1,200 for placing fourth.


Triumph’s Damian Peters was named the “Man of the Match” for his unbeaten 24 while his teammate Jonathon Narine was the “Most Valuable Player” (MVP).


In the women’s final, Tamana batted first and was bowled out for 62. Combined Forces, thanks to 17 from Tricia Marquis, reached 64/4, to secure the prize of $3,500 and a trophy. Marquis won the “Woman of the Match” award.


Tamana’s Stacy Bolah, who was outstanding in the final with 2 for 13, was named the MVP. 


Third was Cricket Lovers A, who took home $2,000 after beating Desert United by seven wickets. Fourth-placed Desert Utd received $1,200. 


At the closing ceremony which had 24 teams (16 men and eight women), Dave Bobb, director of sports, said he was impressed by the large crowd.


Bobb said: “I am very pleased with what I saw and I promise that the next programme would be bigger and better.”


Also addressing the gathering was Kenrick Williams, sports development officer for the area.


Williams, too, was very pleased with the programme, saying: “A lot of hard work went into planning the competition.” He went on to thank Cassie Maharaj, co-ordinator of the programme, for a job well done.


“For 24 teams to play within one month was fantastic planning,” said Williams. “I would like to attract more communities into events such as this one.”



Men’s Final
Five Rivers 61/4 (Sean Hallet 23, Alex Fredricks 1/6) vs Triumph 63/1 (Damien Peters 24, Jonathon Narine 20). Triumph won by nine wickets.


Third/fourth place play-off 
Kane Farm 125/4 (Shane Sookdeo 52, Mark Sankar 14) vs Oropune 41 (Michael Scott 14). Kane Farm won by 84 runs.


Women’s Final
Tamana Utd 62 all out (Dhoreen Bolah 18, Lucy Bolah 17; Tricia Marquis 2/11) vs Combined Forces 64/4 (Tricia Marquis 17, Nayana Sookoo 11; Stacy Bolah 2/13). Combined Forces won by 3 wickets.


Third/fourth place play-off 
Desert Utd 25 all out (Felina Jack 8, Natalie Nina 2/10) vs Cricket Lovers 29/0 (Jovankha Simon 9). 
Cricket Lovers won by 7 wickets.


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.