You are here

Barrackpore, El Dorado reach intercol final

Tuesday, May 7, 2013

Opening batsman Keron Kanhai blasted Barrackpore West into the finals of the Powergen Secondary Schools Intercol T20 competition yesterday with an aggressive 82 that lead them to a convincing 50-run win over Vishnu Boys.


Kanhai struck nine fours and two sixes in his knock that took Barrackpore to 159/4 off their 20 overs. Kanhai, who was eventually dismissed in the 17th over, was ably supported by Jeron Maniram (38). Bryan Boodram (1/19) and Jarlarnie Seales (1/21) were the wicket takers for Vishnu.


Vishnu needed eight runs an over to get to their target of 160, but off spinner Dillon Mohammed snatched 3/20 to limit Vishnu to 109 all out. Mohammed was well supported by Riaz St Clair, who took 2/15. National U-19 players Andy Gobin and Vikash Mohan could only muster 20 and 17 respectively in a losing effort.


At Inshan Ali Park, Shaquille McDavid and Kyle Lee led El Dorado East into the final with a six-wicket win over Carapichaima East. Left arm spinner Lee bagged 3/7 to reduce Carapichaima to a dismal 91 in 18 overs. Justin Joseph top-scored with 15 for Carapichaima.


In reply, left-handed McDavid made 34 and Kyle Ramoutar pitched in with an unbeaten 29 to guide El Do to victory with two and a half overs to spare. El Do will now face Barrackpore West in the final on Friday at Guaracara Park, Pointe-a-Pierre.




AT NATIONAL CRICKET CENTRE: Barrackpore West 159/4 (Keron Kanhai 82, Jeron Maniram 38, Bryan Boodram 1/19, Jarlarnie Seales 1/21) vs Vishnu Boys 109 (Andy Gobin 20, Vikash Mohan 17, Dillon Mohammed 3/20, Riaz St. Clair 2/15) B’Pore won by 50 runs

AT INSHAN ALI PARK: Carapichaima East 91 (18 overs) (Justin Joseph 15, Kyle Lee 3/7, Ewart Nicholson 2/5) vs El Dorado East 95/4 (17.3 overs) (Shaquille McDavid 34, Kyle Ramoutar 29 n.o., Joseph 1/8) El Do won by 6 wickets



User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.