You are here

Pt Fortin ASJA returns as Zonal Champions for Point Fortin

Sunday, May 19, 2013

Young batsman Kellon Monsegue stole the headlines in the Atlantic National Primary Schools Cricket League on Thursday, when he slammed an unbeaten 114 to lead his team Talparo RC to a crushing 109-run victory over Brazil RC in the North Eastern District.


Batting first, Talparo RC made 180 for five with Monsegue thrilling his fellow students and teachers with a brilliant knock. After this century, Brazil RC was out of the game and was duly bowled out for 71—losing the match by 109 runs.


In girls play, Taplaro RC made it a complete sweep against Brazil RC, as they defeated them by 10 wickets. Brazil batted first and inched to 80 all out and Talparo got to their winning target for the loss of no wickets in just five overs.


Down in the St Patrick District, for the third consecutive year the boys of Point Fortin ASJA Primary School are zonal cricket champions. The ASJA boys got past Point Fortin AC in the semifinal round by 21 runs, thanks to a hat-trick by Khayyam Headley whose brother, Hasim, achieved a similar feat in 2012 against Guayaguayare RC.  Renardo Soogrim also took three wickets.


In the final ASJA successfully defended their total of 58 all out by routing Egypt Village Government Primary for 47. Top scorer for ASJA in that match was Rickel Ramnarine with 15 runs. Renardo Soogrim had figures of 4 wickets for 6 runs while Khayyam Headley took 2 for 9.



St Patrick District
Point Fortin ASJA – 95/6 (Rickel Ramnarine – 15 , Khalil Young – 6
Savion Nelson – 3/10
Point Fortin AC – 74 all out (Tyrese Jones – 14 , Sheron Gerald – 12, Kelon Scott – 9)
Khayyam Headley – 3/8 (hat-trick) , Renardo Soogrim – 3/15
Point Fortin ASJA vs Egypt Village Govt (Final) (25/4/2013)
Point Fortin ASJA – 58 all out (Anderson Gay – 5, Renardo Soogrim  – 5 Nyron Ramtahal – 4/15 ,K. Hughes – 2/11, A. Alexander – 2/16)
Egypt Village Govt – 47 All out (S. Caesar – 9 no, Renardo Soogrim – 4/6, Khayyam Headley-2/9, Khalil Young-2/6)

North East District
Talparo RC 180/5 (Kellon Monsegue 114no) vs Brazil RC 71 all out – Talparo RC won by 109 runs
Brazil RC 80 all out vs Talparo RC 83/0 – Talparo RC won by 10 wickets