You are here

Bravo to face T&T in Champions League

Tuesday, May 28, 2013

All rounder Dwayne Bravo will face his colleagues from T&T in the preliminary round of the Champions League T20 tournament in India starting on September 17.


Champions League T20 tournament will start on September 17, and that finals will be played on October 6. Bravo plies his trade for the Chennai Super Kings in the Indian Premier League in India and from all reports the local authorities here will not be persuing him to play for this country, as two attempts in the past have failed. 


Chennai Super Kings finished second to Mumbai Indians in the final on Sunday and according to the CLT20 schedule the second place IPL team goes to group B of the Champions League, which means that Chennai will face T&T who are in Group B.


T&T, the Caribbean champions have been given direct entry into the tournament after failing in the qualifiers last time around in South Africa. In addition to Chennai, they will also meet the Brisbane Heat from Australia and the Titans from South Africa. They will also face the second qualfier from the CLT20 qualifying tournament which takes place before the main tournament.


T&T has good memories when it comes to facing the Chennai Super Kings because in 2011, they defeated Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s men at the Chepauk Stadium in Chennai, southern India. 


Manager of the team Omar Khan said yesterday that it does not matter who the T&T team faces, they have to go out there and try and win all the matches. They have to see each game as a virtual final and meeting up with Chennai is just like playing any other team in the tournament because it is packed with champions from different parts of the world.




Group A: Mumbai Indians (India), Highveld Lions (South Africa), Perth Scorchers (Australia), Rajasthan Royals (India), Q1 (Qualifier)



Group B: IPL Team—Chennai Super Kings (India), Titans (South Africa), Brisbane Heat (Australia), Trinidad & Tobago (West Indies), Q2 (Qualifier)



Qualifier: IPL Team—Sunrisers (India), Otago Volts (New Zealand), SLPL T20 Winner (Sri Lanka), Faisalabad Wolves (Pakistan)