You are here

Block-Up competition enters 30th year

Thursday, May 30, 2013

The 30th annual Inter-Primary Block-Up cricket competition began yesterday with an opening ceremony at the Eastern Regional Sports Complex in Tacarigua.


The milestone 30th anniversary competition is being dedicated to T&T cricket administrator Lance Murray, father of famous West Indian wicketkeeper Deryck Murray, and three founding Block-Up Committee members who have passed on: Praime Teeka, Moti Teeka and Norris Deonarine.


Thirty-five (35) primary schools will compete in this 15-over tournament for trophies and medals. In last year’s competition, Good Shepherd Anglican (Tunapuna) won the league competition, El Dorado North Hindu took the knockout title and Gandhi Vedic of San Juan finished as the top girls’ team.


The knockout competiton starts on Monday at several locations. Matches will be contested at the Learie Constantine Park (Macoya), Hardial Park (St Augustine), Knowles Street Ground (Curepe), St Joseph Recreation Ground and the Aranguez Savannah. 


The competition will be contested for one month, with knockout matches being held every Monday, while the league matches will take place from Tuesday to Thursday. This competition was organised by the Block-Up Committee for students who have completed the SEA Exam.


For further information contact Farouk Deonarine at 704-4504.