You are here

Moosai Ladies target third title

Saturday, June 1, 2013

Moosai Ladies will be looking for a hat-trick of titles this season when the Premiership T20 competition begins tomorrow in the T&T Women’s Cricket Association (TTWCA). On May 11, Moosai clinched the 40-over league title with a 31-run win over Phoenix Women, and last Sunday won the 30-over knockout competition when it defeated Hibiscus Women by four runs in a one-over eliminator.

Moosai will be counting on the national players in its ranks to continue its dominance this season. Kirbyina Alexander, Leeann Kirby and Amanda Samaroo will all line up for Moosai. Alexander has been in fine form of late, scoring 55 in the semifinal of the 30-over competition on May 25.

Tomorrow, Moosai will tackle Cricket Lovers at Dinsley Recreation Ground at 10 am, then play Maaad Rangers at 2 pm at the same venue. There will also be a double-header at the Buggy Haynes Ground. The Phoenix Women will play Maaad Rangers in the first match at 10 am. Later on at 2 pm, Phoenix will be in action again when it faces Cricket Lovers.



Sunday’s Premiership T20 matches 
Phoenix vs Maaad Rangers at Buggy Haynes Ground, 10 am
Moosai vs Cricket Lovers at Dinsley Recreation Ground, 10 am
Phoenix vs Cricket Lovers at Buggy Haynes Ground, 2 pm
Moosai vs Maaad Rangers at Dinsley Recreation Ground, 2 pm

30-over competition
FINAL (May 26)
At UWI: Moosai 8/1 (1 over) vs Hibiscus 4/2 (1 over). Moosai won by 4 runs.  
At El Dorado West Secondary: Moosai 144/3 (29 overs) (Kirbyina Alexander 55, Leeann Kirby 28 n.o., Samantha Bissoon 1/17) vs Phoenix 111/5 (29 overs) (Britney Cooper 27, Samantha Bissoon 17 n.o., Amanda Samaroo 2/15, Kamara Ragoobar 2/23). Moosai won by 33 runs.

At Caroni Savannah: Hibiscus 70/3 (10 overs) (Leah Collette 37 n.o., Marcia Samaroosingh 11) vs Technocrats 62/3 (10 overs) (Gaitri Seetahal 24 n.o). Hibiscus won by 8 runs.


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.