You are here

Cunaripo storms into Atlantic finals

Thursday, June 13, 2013
Anderson Mahase of Cunaripo Presbyterian Primary School misses the ball as Clarke Road Government wicket-keeper Sumaisir Surujballi reaches in to collect during the Atlantic National Primary Schools Cricket League Inter-District semifinals during the first match of a double-header at the National Cricket Centre, Balmain, Couva, yesterday. Cunaripo won by seven wickets to advance to the final. PHOTO: ABRAHAM DIAZ

Cunaripo Government stormed into the finals of the Atlantic National Primary Schools Cricket League yesterday with a thumping seven-wicket victory over Clarke Rochard at the National Cricket Centre (NCC) in Couva.


Russell Orosco was very good with the ball in taking two for eight to reduce Clarke Rochard to 108 all out. Dylan Carter, who has been tremendous all season then scored 14 to spur Cunaripo to 109/3 in 18.2 overs.


They will now meet St. Mary’s in the finals on Friday at the Mecca of local cricket, the Queens Park Oval in Port of Spain.


St Mary’s got the better of Tunapuna in a cliff hanger in the second game at the NCC. Batting first, Tunapuna rallied well to reach 129 for seven in 20 overs. Darrell Wharton was the best of the batsmen with an unbeaten 25, while Tyrece Ried made 18 not out.


St. Mary’s then got home on the last ball reaching 131 for five. Aaron Rodney was brilliant in slamming 66 not out. The St Mary’s boys could not believe their luck and celebrated with great gusto after the win.


In girls play, Moruga Government lost easily to Talparo RC who romped to a nine-wicket victory. Alicia Gomez was in prime form with the ball in taking four for 15, to reduce Moruga to 50 all out. Danielle Solozano continued her good form with the bat and scored 17, to take Talparo to 53 for one off just seven overs.


They will now meet Mason Hall in the finals after the Tobagonians defeated Point Fortin ASJA in their clash.





BOYS: At National Cricket Centre

Clarke Rochard 108 (19.5 overs) (N Beharry 20, Russell Orosco 2/8) vs Cunaripo 109/3 (18.2 overs) (Dylan Carter 14, A Hurcules 2/8). Cunaripo won by 7 wickets.
Tunapuna Pres 129/7 (20 overs) (Darrell Wharton 25n.o., Tyrece Ried 18 n.o.) vs St Mary’s 131/5 (20 overs) (Aaron Rodney 66n.o.) St Mary’s Govt won by 5 wickets.

GIRLS: At Bamboo Recreation Ground: Moruga Government 50 (14.5 overs) (Alicia Gomez 4/15) vs Talparo RC 53/1 (7 overs) (Danielle Solozano 17) Talparo won by 9 wickets.

At Point Fortin: Mason Hall defeated Point Fortin ASJA.

Tomorrow’s Finals
Boys: Cunaripo Presbyterian vs St Mary’s Govt   

Girls: Talparo RC vs Mason Hall Govt


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.