You are here

Plipdeco battles AUM in finals

Wednesday, June 26, 2013

Plipdeco chose to take first strike against T&TEC in a much anticipated semi final fixture at the Plipdeco Ground on Friday as action continued in the SIS Industrial Cricket League. Kris Jacob and A. Sahadeo kept a tight rein on Plipdeco early on with some stingy bowling that restricted them to a paltry 22 runs midway through the innings, with four wickets falling along the way. Anthony Ramroop was carelessly run out on eight going for a quick run off a dropped catch after hitting the first six of the inning in the fifth over. Antonio Aziz was Plipdeco’s savior on the day as he played Plipdeco back into the game with a wonderful selection of shots. 


The right hander contributed thirty runs to Plipdeco’s total in an inning that included two sixes and two fours. He ensured that his team closed on a defendable 54 from their ten overs. Devindra Kangal and N. Garib took three wickets apiece as they dismantled Plipdeco’s lower order. T&TEC’s reply was almost a mirror image to Plipdeco’s, finding themselves three wickets down for four runs in the third over; they accelerated to get to 21 by the end of the fifth over as Manoj Sirju and Devindra Kangal came together to repair the early damage caused by Quesi Griffith and Kenya Leacock.


The pair pushed the total forward with some sensible batting and saw the defending champs to 43 in the ninth over. However, T&TEC would not get the ten runs needed in the final over as Anthony Ramroop conceded just one run to see his team through to the finals for the first time ever. Aziz copped the man of the match award for his outstanding batting display and economical bowling. In the second Semi Final fixture on Monday, IPSL’s AUM division overcame a determined Nu Iron outfit in a very close encounter. AUM will now meet Plipdeco in Friday’s final while T&TEC will have to settle for a third place playoff against Nu Iron on Thursday.



Summarised Scores

Plipdeco Ground
Plipdeco 54/9 (A. Aziz 30, A. Ramroop 10, N. Garib 3/14, D. Kangal 3/16)
vs T&TEC 44/7 (M. Sirju 17, D. Kangal 10, A. Ramroop 4/9, Z. Mohammed 1/2)
Result: Plipdeco won by 10 runs
Man of the Match: Anthony Ramroop

June 24
Nu Iron vs IPSL AUM
Nu Iron 55/6 (J. Siew 13, J. Samuels 11, D. Ramsaran 2/6, A. Ali 2/12)
vs AUM 58/6 (N. Sooknanan 12, S. Goolcharan 10, A. Mohammed 2/14, D. Dass 1/10)
Result: AUM won by 4 wickets
Man of the Match: Dinesh Ramsaran


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.