You are here

Construction Crew dominate Mayaro night cricket

Friday, August 16, 2013
RIGHT: Joel Primus, left, community sustainability and stakeholder relations adviser, bpTT, and Matthew Pierre, right, community relations adviser, bpTT, share the limelight with dominant women’s league champions ZNS Construction Crew, who won every category of the 2013 bpTT Mayaro Windball Night Cricket competition.

The ladies of ZNS Construction Crew asserted total domination over the 2013 bpTT Mayaro Windball Night Cricket competition when the presentation of prizes was held at the Mayaro Recreation Ground last Saturday.


Led by Cathy-Ann Thomas-Baksh, the Biche-based squad made a clean sweep of every category of the women’s division, taking home over $8,000, the championship trophies and gold medals in the league, knock-out, round robin and march past competitions. This is the third straight year that the team has dominated the league competition.


In addition, ZNS Construction won the major individual honours, taking the women’s MVP award through Roxanne King, the award for the player taking the most wickets, Sherry-Ann Harricharan, with Stacy King taking the award for highest individual score.


The prize-giving marked a double celebration as Trendsetterz, led by male MVP and husband of the winning women’s captain Ryan Baksh, was crowned league and knock-out champions in the men’s division, receiving $7,000, championship trophies and gold medals. Lara Youths took home the prizes for top spot in the round-robin competition.


Now in its 12th year, the bpTT Mayaro Windball Night Cricket League competition is sponsored by energy company BP Trinidad and Tobago and organised by the Mayaro/Guayaguayare Unemployment Organisation and Concerned Citizens (MGUOCC).


Joel Primus, community sustainability and stakeholder relations adviser, bpTT, praised officials, teams, players and spectators for bringing their energy to the competition. 


“This competition is one of the best organised nationwide and it is a tribute to the passion and vision of the people of Mayaro and environs who make it a success. It is one of the many sporting initiatives that bpTT is proud to support and will continue to do so in providing avenues to unlock the full potential of this model community,” Primus noted.


Spectators at the closing were also treated to an all-star exhibition game featuring a mixed team of ZNS Construction Crew and Trendsetterz versus a Best of the Rest team featuring the competition’s top performers.


Councillor for Mayaro/Guayaguayare Raymond Cozier thanked bpTT for its longstanding support of the league, pointing out that it was a very significant event in the community that has a proud tradition of sporting excellence.




Individual Prizes 


Most valuable player—Roxanne King (ZNS Construction)


Highest individual score—Stacy King (ZNS Construction)


Most runs in tournament—Tishanna Scepture (Newlands Warriors)


Most wickets—Sherry-Ann Harricharan (ZNS Construction)


Most disciplined team—Biche Sports SC





Individual Prizes 


Most valuable player—Ryan Baksh (Trendsetterz)


Highest individual score—Dinesh Ragbir (Limers HD)


Most runs in tournament—Keston McCled (St. Ann’s Warriors)


Most wickets—Saleem Ali (Jus For Kicks)


Most disciplined team—Kernahan Boys


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff. Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Please help us keep out site clean from inappropriate comments by using the flag option.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments. Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy