You are here

T&TEC surges to DPL title

Wednesday, September 11, 2013

T&TEC became the inaugural winners of the Diamond Premier League, taking the  finals against Pills & Beyond Super Kings and claiming the first prize of $15,000. Batting first, T&TEC got off to a flying start with an opening stand of 80 in the 11 overs. Led by a powerful knock of 62 from Akeil Cooper and 32 from Keegan Jagessar T&TEC posted a mammoth 153 for 7 in 20 overs. Pills & Beyond Super Kings started their run chase cautiously with openers Nigel Gayasingh (25) and Jeewan Sookdeo (22) finding it difficult to rotate the strike. Jeewan Sookdeo was eventually out in the 10th Over bowled by Krishna Narine with the score on 52. Despite another fighting knock by the tournament’s MVP and second leading run scorer Ranga Latchana of 41, Super Kings found the going tough with the asking rate in the last five overs climbing to 12 runs per over. They eventually ended on  137 for 7 at the end of their 20 overs. 



Earlier, Tarouba Sports came up against Debe Youth Organization for the 3rd Place spot. In a game reduced to 15 overs per side Tarouba Sports won the toss and choose to bat first. Led by the tournament’s third leading run scorer Nicolas Buchoon’s  knock of 32,  Tarouba Sports posted 117 for 6 in their 15 overs, Vishal Jagessar was the pick of the bowlers with 2 for 20 from his three overs. At their turn at the crease Debe Youths found the going tough by the discipline bowling from the Tarouba unit. Opener Roger Thomas finished unbeaten on 44 but was not able to see his team home pass the Tarouba total. At the end of their 15 overs Debe Youths reached 105 for 4 Amir Mohammed chipped in with 28. Tarouba won by 12 runs and took the 3rd Place purse of $5,000.00.



1st Place    Team T&TEC    $15,000.00
2nd Place    Pills & Beyond Super Kings    $7,000.00
3rd Place    Tarouba Sports Club    $5,000.00
4th Place    Debe Youth Organization    $2,500.00
Most Discipline Team    Terminal Underdogs (Mayaro)    $1,000.00
Most Runs    Evin Lewis (373 runs) SJ Rapids    $500.00
Most Wickets    Damien Binwah (16 wickets) Super Kings    $500.00
MVP    Ranga Latchana (9 Wickets & 369 Runs)    $1,000.00


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.