You are here

Tobago cricket season begins this weekend

Friday, January 17, 2014
There will be no games at Shaw Park this weekend as the ground is being prepared for the Regional Super50.

The Tobago Cricket Association 2014 domestic season will bowl off this weekend (January 18) with action in the two-day championship league.


Ten teams will be challenging defending champions Sport Elite for the coveted title this year.


The two-day format is contested over two days on Saturday & Sunday beginning at 11 am each day and ending at 6 pm.


This year will see the return of Speyside CC, Roxborough Ball Players, Scaborough/Mason Hall and Delaford Expendables.


Not competing this year is Goodwood Cricket Club.


The winning team will collect $16,000 while the runners-up will receive $10,000. Third and fourth will receive $6,000 and $3,000 respectively. The other participating teams will receive $1,000.


The THA sponsored Sport Elite team swept last season; winning all three formats, namely the Twenty/20, Carib 40 Overs and the two-day competition.


Matches are expected to be contested at Charlotteville, Louis D’or, Goodwood, Canaan/Bon Accord, Mt Pleasant and recently added, the Black Rock Recreation Ground in Courland. Shaw Park will come on stream later, following the WICB Regional Super50 matches carded for that venue on February 5 and 6.




First round fixtures
January 18 & 19

• Roxborough Ball Players vs Speyside CC at Settlements (Louis D’or) Recreational Ground
• Club Crusoe vs Airports Authority at Mt Pleasant Recreational Ground
• C&B United vs Delaford Expendables at Bon Accord Recreational Ground
• Charlotteville vs Scarborough/Mason Hall at Charlotteville Recreational Ground
• Sport Elite vs Avengers at Black Rock Recreational Ground
• Georgia on a bye
Tobago Cricket Association 2014 participating teams:

1. Canaan & Bon Accord Sports Club
2. Sport Elite Youth Development
3. Club Crusoe Cricket Club
4. Airports Authority Cricket Club
5. Avengers Cricket Club
6. Delaford Expendables Cricket Club
7. Scarborough/Mason Hall Cricket Club
8. Speyside Cricket Club
9. Charlotteville Cricket Club
10. Roxborough Ball Players
11. Georgia Cricket Club


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.