You are here

Merry Boys on a high after taking UWI Twenty20 title

Monday, January 27, 2014
Winners of the UWI National T-20 Cricket Tournament Merry Boys celebrate after winning the finals against Munroe Road at the UWI Spec, St Augustine on Saturday. Photo: ANDRE ALEXANDER

Munroe Road’s dream run in the UWI T-20 cricket tournament came to an end on Saturday night, as former national Under-17 left-hander Amir Jangoo slammed 45 off 39 balls to guide Merry Boys to the title, defeating Munroe by five wickets at the UWI Spec, St Augustine.


Munroe, which earned promotion into the premier division of the national league this season, was hoping for another upset, after it defeated defending champions Esmeralda in the quarterfinals and Clarke Road in the semifinals on Thursday. 


Batting first, Munroe posted 134/7, behind 42 (41 balls) from Guyanese Derwin Christian and 28 (15 balls) from Joel Graham.


Limiting Munroe’s total was the national fast bowling duo of Marlon Richards and Rayad Emrit. Richards took 2/17 in four overs, while Emrit grabbed 2/35 in his four.


In reply, Jangoo, who won the Most Valuable Player award last year at the West Indies Cricket Board Regional U-17 tournament, took Merry Boys to the target with three overs to spare. He was ably supported by Aaron Alfred and Aneal Kanhai, who scored 41 and 28, respectively.


Experienced Guyanese spin bowler Mahendra Nagamootoo, was Munroe’s best bowler, snatching 2/27. Jangoo won the man-of-the-match award for his efforts. 


Munroe Road 134/7 (Derwin Christian 42, J. Graham 28, Marlon Richards 2/17, Rayad Emrit 2/35) vs Merry Boys 135/5 (17 overs) (Amir Jangoo 45, Aaron Alfred 41, Aneal Kanhai 28, Mahendra Nagamootoo 2/27) Merry Boys won by 5 wickets


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.