You are here

Augustus century spurs Parkites to opening win

Sunday, February 2, 2014

Queen’s Park right-handed batsman Jonathan Augustus struck an unbeaten 121 yesterday, as the defending 50-over Premier Division Sunday League champions defeated newcomers Munroe Road by 140 runs. Queen’s Park going after their fifth consecutive victory, was led by Augustus, who led to an onslaught, as the defending champs posted 273/8 at the Munroe Road ground in Cunupia. Sherwin Peters also contributed 31 to the total, while Kapil Harry (2/45) and Nishal Gayadeen (2/37) grabbed two wickets each for Munroe, who gained promotion to the premier division this season.

Spin bowler Akeil Hosein ensured a winning start for Queen’s Park, taking 3/10 in eight overs to reduce Munroe to 133 all out in 41 overs. Kieron Joseph fought hard for Munroe, scoring 43. In another match, Kamil Pooran, captain of Presentation College, Chaguanas, banged 78 to lead his club team Preysal to a narrow one wicket win over Comets at Inshan Ali Park. Before the start of play, the Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board’s thrust to take cricket to each and every nook and cranny of the country scored another triumph yesterday when the opening of the prestigious National League 2014 season took place at Monroe Road Recreation Ground in Cunupia. On hand to bowl off the season was Member of Parliament for Chaguanas West, Jack Warner; local government councillor for Monroe Road, Simeon Mahabir, chairman of the T&TCB’s National League Joseph Sam Phillip and his vice-chairman Manohar Ramsaran.


Also present was National League secretary Anil Kamal. “The mere fact that Queen’s Park , the most successful club in T&T could come to Monroe Road shows that cricket is indeed spreading all round and the Cricket Board is being seen as promoting this significant change which is creating more opportunities for the players and fans alike,” said Phillip. He said the community of Monroe Road should feel justifiably proud that their side could be matched against the mighty Parkites and he pledged that the National League will continue to do its part to make the game more attractive and lift its standard. 



Queen’s Park 273/8 (Jonathan Augustus 121 no, Sherwin Peters 31, Kapil Harry 2/45, Nishal Gayadeen 2/37) vs Munroe Road 133 (41 overs) (Kieron Joseph 43, Derwin Christian 34, Akeil Hosein 3/10, Amit Jaggernauth 2/35, Marlon Barclay 2/4) QPCC won by 140 runs

Clarke Road 196/6 (50 overs) (Ranga Latchana 56, Ryan Ramdass 27, Daniel St Clair 2/26, Amir Khan 2/32) vs Tableland 181/7 (32 overs) (Revised target-178 in 45 overs) (Kenton Thompson 48 no, Steven Taylor 46, Latchana 3/39) Tableland won by 3 wickets

Caldrac 73 (23.4 overs) (Ricky Jaipaul 4/7, Marlon Richards 3/14) vs Merry Boys 77/1 (9.4 overs) (Mario Belcon 50 no) Merry Boys won by 9 wickets

Comets 183 (48.2 overs) (Vishal Singh 44, Richard Kelly 41, Philton Williams 5/32) vs Preysal 184/9 (46.4 overs) (Kamil Pooran 78, Miguel Nedd 32, Devendra Krishna 4/36) Preysal won by 1 wicket.

Bamboo 242/9 (Ryan Ramasray 51, Yanick Cariah 77, Rishaad Harris 3/33) vs Esmeralda 120 (34.3 overs) (Stephan Murray 27, Darren Deonarine 3/10, Lynden Nelson 3/23) Bamboo won by 122 runs

Powergen 127 (22 overs) (Akeil Cooper 40) vs Moosai 107/8 (22 overs) Powergen won by 20 runs


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.