You are here

Nelson prevents Sonics hat-trick

Monday, February 3, 2014

The Rigtech Sonics Cycling Club had to settle for second place yesterday, as Bike Smith’s Troy Nelson showed his endurance to snatch the third T&T Cycling Federation road race of the year.


Sonics have been dominant this year, winning the first two road races. 


Yesterday, Nelson proved his stamina to win the 102.5 km event which began at the Beetham gas station heading to the Corinth Flyover, San Fernando and back to the Mucurapo Foreshore. Nelson finished in two hours, 28 minutes and 13 seconds.


Christiane Farah of the Rainbow Warriors Triathlon Club was the top female cyclist, taking the senior ladies category.




Troy Nelson – Bike Smith CC
Akil Campbell – Rigtech Sonics
Guy Costa – Heatwave
Ronnie Moses – Slipstream
Jymes Bridges – Team DPS
Marc Codrington – Slipstream



Senior Ladies
Christiane Farah – RWTC



Akil Campbell – Rigtech Sonics
Emmanuel Watson – Madonna
Christian Gillette – Slipstream



Masters 40-49
Ancil Roberts – Rigtech Sonics
Pasha Hussain – Slipstream
Douglas D’Abadie – Team SR
Geoffrey Harper - Sonics



Masters 50-59
Wayne Samuel – Southclaine
Courtney Mark – Corkie’s Casuals
Gary Delzin – Slipstream
Derek De Gannes – The Braves



Masters 60+
Clyde Pollonais – Southclaine
Earl Mcleod – Heatwave
Godfrey Clyne – Southclaine
Pat Nelson – The Braves



Tyler Cole – Sonics
Ramon Belmontes – The Braves
Lorenzo Orosco – Slipstream
Romell Woods – Sonics


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.