You are here

Powergen, QPCC try to remain flawless in National League

Saturday, March 15, 2014

Defending two-day national league champions Powergen, will face the defending Sunday league 50-over champions Queen’s Park today and tomorrow in the two-day competition at the Syne Village ground, Penal. Both teams have been cruising in the competition this season, winning their first two matches. In the first round, Ancil Bhagan and Nicholas Sookdeosingh led the way for Powergen in a five-wicket win over Clarke Road. Spin bowler Bhagan took 8/36 in the second innings, while Sookdeosingh banged 150 in the first innings. 

Bhagan was destructive again in round two, grabbing seven wickets in the match to guide Powergen to a comfortable 94-run win over Esmeralda. Bhagan was ably supported by spin bowler Sherwin Ganga, who also snatched seven wickets in the match. The Parkites have been more convincing than Powergen. All-rounder Daron Cruickshank was the star for Queen’s Park in the team’s first round eight-wicket win over Moosai. The medium pacer took six wickets in the encounter and also struck 87 in the first innings. 
In round two, Queen’s Park manhandled Preysal by an innings and 24 runs. Jeremy Solozano, who recently returned from the ICC Under-19 World Cup with the West Indies U-19 team, scored 96. Experienced off spinner Amit Jaggernauth was the Parkites’ best bowler, finishing with match figures of 7/66.
All matches bowl off at 10 am today.


Jenexcon Tableland vs Alescon Comets, Tableland
Merry Boys vs Munroe Road, Diego Martin Recreation Ground
Seenath’s Auto Bamboo vs Caldrac, Bamboo
Clico Preysal vs Moosai, Preysal
Esmeralda vs FCB Clarke Road, Esmeralda
Powergen vs QPCC, Syne Village