You are here

Smith, Narine, Bravo star in WI second warm-up win

Thursday, March 20, 2014
West Indies' spinner Sunil Narine sends one down during the regional side’s ICC Twenty20 Cricket World Cup warm up match against Sri Lanka in Dhaka, Bangladesh, yesterday. West Indies won by 33 runs. Photo courtesy

MIRPUR—Dwayne Bravo rocked the top order while Sunil Narine carved through the middle as defending World T20 champions West Indies humbled Sri Lanka by 33 runs in a warm-up match at Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur in Bangladesh, yesterday.


Narine grabbed four wickets to bury ambitions of recovery after Sri Lanka, Chasing 173, were reduced to 18 for two in the fourth over until Tillakaratne Dilshan and Kumar Sangakkara attempted to rescue them with a 54 run third wicket stand that brought some stability to the scoring.


Opener Kusal Perera was dismissed cheaply by Samuel Badree and Mahela Jayawardene was sent back for a first-ball duck by Ravi Rampaul but Dilshan and Sangakkara repaired the damaged to some extent before the beaten finalist in the 2012 tournament stumbled again.


Bravo picked up three wickets including uprooting the stumps of opener Dilshan with a top score of 43 and Sangakkara.


Dilshan scored 43 off 36 balls, with six fours, while Sangakkara added 24 runs off 19 balls, with three fours, as the two brought the match to a crucial stage before Narine wreaked further havoc as Sri Lanka were bowled out for 139. 


Bravo finished with figures of three for 29 while Narine topped the bowling with four for 24 including the scalps of Dinesh Chandimal (14) and Angelo Mathews (18) off successive balls.


However, he could not complete his hat-trick because of a no-ball.


Earlier, Dwayne Smith gave the West Indies a flying start by powering his way to a top score of 60 after Sri Lanka had won the toss and elected to field first.


Smith who cracked eight fours and two sixes compiled a quick fire 47 with Chris Gayle who was the first to go for 12 in the sixth over.


West Indies were at one stage reduced to 55 for two as Andre Fletcher went for 8 but a third wicket partnership between Smith and Bravo brought the Caribbean cricketers back on course.


Bravo scored 43 runs off just 31 balls but the Windies lost momentum when Lendl Simmons fell for ten.


However Skipper Darren Sammy came to the crease and blasted 30 runs off 14 balls, including one four and two sixes, to take the score to 172 for five.


On Tuesday, West Indies crushed England in their first official warm-up match of the World T20 tournament. (CMC)







D Smith lbw b Prasanna 60 


C Gayle c NLTC Perera b Herath 12


A Fletcher lbw b Herath 4 


DJ Bravo c Jayawardene b Lakmal 43 


L Simmons c Chandimal b Mendis 10


D Sammy (not out) 30


A Russell not out 2 


Extras: (b 4, lb 1, w 3, nb 3) 11 


Total: (5 wickets; 20 overs) 172 


Did not bat: D Ramdin, R Rampaul, SP Narine, SS Cottrell, MN Samuels, K Santokie, J Charles, S Badree


Fall of wickets: 1-47 (Gayle), 2-55 (Fletcher), 3-104 (Smith), 4-129 (Simmons), 5-154 (Bravo)


Bowling: Mathews 2-0-14-0, Kulasekara 4-0-38-0, Mendis 3-0-43-1, Herath 4-0-20-2, Prasanna-3-0-14-1, Perera 0.4-0-14-0, Lakmal 2.2-0-16-1, Dilshan 1-0-8-0.






M Perera c Charles b Badree 4 


T Dilshan b Bravo 43


D Jayawardene c Narine b Rampaul 0 


K Sangakkara b Bravo 24 


L Chandimal c Smith b Narine 14 


S Prasanna b Russell 2 


A Mathews b Narine 18 


N Perera lbw b Narine 0 


K Kulasekara lbw b Narine 14


H Thirimanne (not out) 14


S Senanayake b Bravo 2 


Extras: (lb 2, w 1, nb 1) 4 


Total: (all out; 19.2 overs) 139


Did not bat: S Malinga, H Herath, R Lakmal, B Mendis


Fall of wickets: 1-10 (MDKJ Perera), 2-18 (Jayawardene), 3-72 (Sangakkara), 4-73 (Dilshan), 5-83 (Prasanna), 6-107 (Chandimal), 7-107 (Mathews), 8-109 (NLTC Perera), 9-134 (Kulasekara), 10-139 (Senanayake)


Bowling: Badree 4-0-30-1, Rampaul 2-0-11-1, Narine 4-0-24-4, DJ Bravo 3.2-0-29-3, Gayle 3-0-18-0, Russell-3-0-25-1.


Toss: Sri Lanka, who chose to field


Umpires: HDPK Dharmasena (Sri Lanka) and NJ Llong (England)


TV umpire: RA Kettleborough (England)


Match referee: RS Madugalle (Sri Lanka)


Reserve umpire: RK Illingworth (England)


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.