You are here

Lara for Sachin Lord’s bicentenary

Thursday, May 29, 2014

West Indies legend Brian Lara has been added to the line-up for the Marylebone Cricket Club v Rest of the World bicentenary match at Lord’s on July 5.


Lara will play alongside MCC captain and fellow all-time batting great Sachin Tendulkar for the 50-over match along current West Indies star, Shivnarine Chanderpaul.


“It will be fantastic to play at such an iconic place on such a special occasion,” said Lara, 45.


West Indies bowler Tino Best is the final name added to a Rest of the World side captained by spinner Shane Warne.


The Australia legend, who took 19 wickets in four Tests at Lord’s, will be joined by former England batsman Kevin Petersen, along with Sri Lanka’s Muttiah Muralitharan and Pakistan’s Shahid Afridi in the Rest of the World XI.


Aaron Finch, the world’s leading Twenty20 batsman, and Australia bowler Peter Siddle join the MCC hosts.


Current president Mike Gatting scored a century for MCC against a Rest of the World XI in a five-day game (with first-class status) in 1987 to commemorate the club’s bicentenary.


Siddle, Nottinghamshire wicketkeeper Chris Read and Pakistan paceman Umar Gul complete the MCC side.


Gul said: “Playing at Lord’s is different to playing at any other ground in the world. There is something magical about it and it will be a pleasure to come back and help MCC mark the current ground’s 200th year in this match.”


The hosts will be managed by club president Mike Gatting, while ex-South Africa skipper Shaun Pollock will oversee the Rest of the World.


It will be the second time Tendulkar has appeared at Lord’s in such a fixture, having captained the Rest of the World side in the Diana, Princess of Wales Memorial Match in 1998.


The current Lord’s ground is the third to be named after founder Thomas Lord. The first was founded in 1787 (the same year as MCC’s foundation) and the second in 1809, before Lord moved his ground to its present location in 1814.


England women’s captain Charlotte Edwards will lead an MCC women’s side against a Rest of the World team selected by the International Cricket Council on May 19.


MCC: Sachin Tendulkar (IND, capt), Saeed Ajmal (PAK), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WI), Rahul Dravid (IND), Aaron Finch (AUS), Umar Gul (PAK), Brian Lara (WI), Brett Lee (AUS), Chris Read (ENG, wkt), Shaun Tait (AUS), Daniel Vettori (NZL)


Rest of the World: Shane Warne (AUS, capt), Shahid Afridi (PAK), Tino Best (WI), Paul Collingwood (ENG), Adam Gilchrist (AUS, wkt), Tamim Iqbal (BAN), Muttiah Muralitharan (SRI), Kevin Pietersen (ENG), Virender Sehwag (IND), Peter Siddle (AUS), Yuvraj Singh (IND) 


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.