You are here

Pierre, Edwards lead QPCC to T20 crown

Sunday, June 1, 2014
Powergen batsman Rajendra Chandrika is bowled by Queen’s Park spinner Akeal Hosein for eight on Friday in the T&T Cricket Board NGC T20 final at the Queen’s Park Oval, Port-of-Spain. Queen’s Park won by three wickets. PHOTO: ABRAHAM DIAZ

A 26-run unbroken eighth wicket partnership between Khary Pierre and Fidel Edwards led Queen’s Park Cricket Club (QPCC) to an exciting three-wicket win over Powergen on Friday night in the final of the T&T Cricket Board NGC T20 Festival at the Queen’s Park Oval, Port-of-Spain. Chasing 139 for victory, Powergen held the upperhand as Queen’s Park was reduced to 115/7 when Akeal Hosein was dismissed for 24. Barbadian Fidel Edwards, more known for his fast bowling, came out to the middle with QPCC needing 24 off nine balls. Edwards and Khary Pierre fought hard for Queen’s Park, taking the score to 137/7 with one ball remaining. Needing two runs for the win, right-handed Edwards struck a four giving the Parkites the narrowest of victories. 
Edwards finished on 11 not out off only four balls, hitting one four and one six, while Pierre slammed an unbeaten 23 off 12 balls, which included two sixes. 


QPCC captain Justin Guillen struck 26 at the top of the innings, while Vaaroon Samaroo was the pick of the bowlers for Powergen, grabbing 3/30 in four overs. Kevon Cooper and Kieron Pollard, who both recently returned from the Indian Premier League did not score many for QPCC, contributing one and 18 respectively. Earlier, Powergen skipper Gregory Mahabir top scored with an unbeaten 39 to lead his team to 138/4 after getting off to a poor start. Powergen were 17/2 after Nicholas Sookdeosingh and Rajendra Chandrika both fell for eight. When Narsingh Deonarine was dismissed for 28 Powergen sunk to 70/4 in the 13th over. Mahabir and Akeil Cooper then joined forces batting the remainder of the overs. Mahabir’s knock came off 38 balls while Cooper ended on 27 not out from 23 balls. The spin duo of Hosein and Amit Jaggernauth were the best bowlers for Queen’s Park, taking 2/14 (four overs) and 1/21 (four overs) respectively.



At Queen’s Park Oval
Powergen 138/4 (20 overs) (Gregory Mahabir 39 no, Narsingh Deonarine 28, Akeil Cooper 27 no, Akeal Hosein 2/14, Amit Jaggernauth 1/21) vs Queen’s Park 141/7 (20 overs) (Justin Guillen 26, Hosein 24, Khary Pierre 23 no, Fidel Edwards 11 no, Vaaroon Samaroo 3/30, Kavesh Kantasingh 2/20) Queen’s Park won by three wickets.


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.