You are here

Drifters, Ball Players roll to victory in Tyro

Friday, June 20, 2014

Winning at the right time was the theme as Drifters men’s team and Ball Players women’s outfit, both recorded victory in their fixtures in the BG T&T Ministry of Sports Tyro Windball Cricket League last weekend. 


Gregory Webb and Dave Baboolal scored 55 and 25 runs respectively to lead the Drifters to a commanding total of 167/5 in their 15 over innings. 


Despite Marlon Moonsammy’s 34 United Progressors only managed 136/8 as they surrended a vital victory to Drifters. In a thrilling contest in the women’s semifinals, it was Ball Players who punched their ticket into the finals after some effective blowing from and Samantha Bissoon and Barbra Julien that helped restricted Tamana United to 88 all out after in their first innings. 


Kirbyina Alexander then scored an unbeaten 42 not out which guided Ball players to an easy victory at 89/4.




Men’s Division

Ministry of Sport Big Men 126/5 (15 OVERS), Suraj Sunasie -24, Chervon Griffith-32 vs Jaggan United 109 (14.1 overs), Joel Mohammed—12, Devon Victor -2-0-4-2, Kristoff Andrews -2-0-11-3. Ministry of Sport Big Men won by 17 runs.

Dollar Touch 137/4 (15 overs) , Narine Samaroo-62 n.o, Cyrus Balroop-13, Donny Sapersad -3-0-15-1 vs Petit Bourg Progressors 121/8 (15 overs), Jasbour Finkay—36 , Sunil Boodansingh—25. Dollar Touch won by 6 wickets.

Women’s Division

Combine Forces 113/8 (15overs), Felicia Walters -60, Jodian Morgan-16 vs Cricket Lovers 105 (14.2 overs), Jenelle Charles- 20, Dersiree Simon-17, Natasha Trotman -3-0-11-2. Combine Forces won by 8 runs.