You are here

NBFTT certifies 18 coaches in South East zone

Wednesday, June 25, 2014

The National Basketball Federation of T&T (NBFTT) certified 18 coaches in the South East zone bringing the total to 54 coaches to date, that have been elevated to Level 1 status. The coaches, a mixture of current and former players together with coaches who are young and experienced, have joined 36 others from the East, South East and Tobago zones. The programme shifted to the North zone yesterday at the Tranquility Secondary School and will run until Friday. 

The course is the follow-up of a mandate from Federation of International Basketball Federations (FIBA), the world governing body for the sport, that all participants, which comprises coaches and all match officials (referees and table officials), must be trained, examined and tested to participate in a FIBA approved event. The NBFTT, has partnered with the Sport Company of T&T (SPORTT) to conduct the programme. Former national men’s senior coach Clement “Jovi” Holder and Christopher Jackson Charles, the former senior national women’s coach are the course lecturers.

For more information call the NBFTT’s general secretary at 393-2894; June Rogers—377-1210; Daron Lall—299-4362 or Clement Holder—299-1225 to confirm your attendance and venue. The course will continue in the North zone (Tranquility Secondary School for the Port-of-Spain course) June 24–27; Southwest and South Central zones (Point Fortin Indoor and Fyzabad Anglican Secondary for South Central) June 28–30; and South zone (Pleasantville Indoor) July 4–6. All those who are interested in being a basketball coach in T&T are required to attain at least a Level 1 NBFTT certificate of approval and everyone is asked to take note of the dates and venues when the programme will be offered.



Eric Baptiste, Michelle Morris, Ethan Morris, Kylon Graneau, Derek Foreman, Lorne Marshall, Samuel Pascal, Sandra Lucus, Wedndell Perez, Akeela Rodriguez, Nehemian Grant, Andy Campbell, Naomi Grant, Lester Grant, Emarson St Clair, Meguella Simon, Phelix Kirk and Barry Gabriel.


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.