You are here

Messi wins award as best player

Monday, July 14, 2014

RIO DE JANEIRO—Lionel Messi has received the award for best player of the World Cup, minutes after his Argentina team lost the final 1-0 to Germany.


Messi was selected ahead of Thomas Mueller of Germany and Netherlands forward Arjen Robben by FIFA’s technical study group of coaching analysts.


Germany’s Manuel Neuer collected the best goalkeeper prize.


James Rodriguez of Colombia got the golden boot award as top scorer with six goals. Mueller was second, with five goals.


The best young player award went to Paul Pogba of France.