You are here

Cedenio leads juniors to historic World Champs

Tuesday, July 15, 2014
Machel Cedenio

World’s number one ranked 400 metres specialist Machel Cedenio will lead T&T’s 21-athlete squad, which will participate in the IAAF World Junior Championships, from July 22-27 at the Hayward Field, on the University of Oregon campus in Eugene, Oregon.


With the deadline for the final entries now closed, no fewer than 175 IAAF member federations have confirmed their participation at the championships, with some 1,546 athletes entered. The figure is just shy of the record set at the last edition of the championships held in Barcelona two years ago but is the largest ever age-group athletics event held outside of Europe and the the largest event ever contested on US soil.


Also among T&T’s highly rated representatives are Shackeil Waithe, who is ranked at ninth in the world in javelin and Jonathan Farinha, who is ranked the same but in the 100m. Farinha also sits as the worlds number-13 in the 200m.


Ranked at 14th position is Zakiya Denoon in the 100m and Ruebin Walters in the 110m hurdles. Both of T&T’s 4x100m teams are highly ranked. The boys are off a gold medal haul at the Carfita Games and will be in action on the final day of the events.


Other notable mentions include John Mark Constantine, ranked 22nd in the 100m, Aaliyah Telesford, ranked 23 in the girls’ 100m and Kayelle Clarke who sits in 23rd in the 200m.


The IAAF has appointed Ato Boldon, Joanna Hayes and Jackie Joyner-Kersee as ambassadors to the 2014 IAAF World Junior Championships. In 1992 in Seoul, South Korea, Boldon became the first double sprint champion in the history of the IAAF World Junior Championships.


T&T teams :


100m: John Mark Constantine, Jonathan Farinha
200m: Jonathan Farinha
400m: Asa Guevara, Machel Cedenio
110m hurdles: Aaron Lewis, Ruebin Walters
Javelin throw: Shackeil Waithe


Relay pools
Jonathan Farinha, John-Mark Constantine, Holland Cabare, Micah Ballantyne, Akanni Hislop, Aaron Lewis
Machel Cedenio, Asa Guevara, Odel James, Breon Mullings, Nathan Farinha, Ruebin Walters


100m: Zakiya Denoon, Aaliyah Telesford
200m: Kayelle Clarke
100m hurdles: Akila McShine
Shot put: Portious Warren


Relay pool
Zakiya Denoon, Aaliyah Telesford, Kayelle Clarke, Mauricia Prieto, Trishelle Leacock


Officials: Jim Clarke (manager), Dexter Voisin (head coach), Charles Joseph (sprints coach), Kerron Brown (throws coach), Althea Busby (sprints/hurdles coach), Shurlan Bonas (massage therapist)


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.