You are here

Diaz wins TTCF keep fit

Thursday, July 24, 2014

Luiz Diaz of The Braves Cycling Club won the T&T Cycling Federation keep fit road race ahead of Heatwave’s Phillip Clarke and clubmate Gevan Samuel in the elite men’s category, on Sunday.


Rounding off the top six were Linford Blackwood (Team PSL), Gavyn Nero (The Braves) and Peter Thompson (The Braves). The race began at the Caroni Bird Sanctuary and headed south going through southern communities such as La Brea, Erin and Palo Seco. The cyclists then headed north on the Solomon Hochoy Highway until Claxton Bay, before travelling south on Solomon Hochoy to complete the race in front of the Brian Lara Stadium.


Akil Campbell, who recently represented T&T at the Junior Pan American Cycling Championships in Mexico won the junior category in front of Southampton duo Jerron Loubon and Nicholas Wharton.




Elite Men


1 Luis Diaz—The Braves


2 Phillip Clarke—Heatwave


3 Gevan Samuel—The Braves


4 Linford Blackwood—Team PSL


5 Gavyn Nero—The Braves


6 Peter Thompson—The Braves

Elite Ladies 


1 Christiane Farah—Unattached




1 Akil Campbell—Sonics


2 Jerron Loubon—Southampton


3 Nicholas Wharton—Southampton


4 Emmanuel Watson—Madonna



1 Tyler Cole—Sonics


2 Romello Crawford—Team PSL 


3 Nicholas Paul—Sonics


4 Brandon Gittens—Sonics

Junior Ladies


1 Tineill Campbell—Sonics 


2 Cheyenne Awai—AWCC


3 Dominic Lovell—AWCC

Masters 40-49


1 Roger Malco—Team Foundation


2 Mark Ogiste—Unattached


3 Robindranath Balgobin—Hummingbird

Masters 50-59


1 Earl Mc Cleod—Heatwave


2 Clyde Pollonais—Southclaine


3 Michael Brown—Team PSL


4 Steven Aboud—Unattached

Masters 60-69


1 Pat Nelson—The Braves

Masters 70+


1 Joey Nunes—Hummingbird


2 Lennox Parris—Southampton