You are here

John back on target as WASA goes top

Friday, August 8, 2014

Former national striker Stern John was back on the scoresheet for 2014 champion WASA FC, when he scored the third goal in a 4-0 win over Joe Public to send his club to the top of the TTFA National Super League standings on Wednesday.

John, who helped the club to a positive finish last season after a generally poor campaign, scored in the 57th minute. Damien Pompey and Kirth Hutchins gave WASA a 2-0 half time lead, before John and Ethan Robinson scored second half goals to put Joe Public, the 2011 treble winner and former Pro League champion to an unfamiliar place—at the foot of the standings.

WASA now leads the standings with 12 points from four wins after five matches. The club leapfrogged unbeaten Petrotrin Palo Seco in the process. Palo Seco was stunned by Bethel United in a 2-2 draw, after leading 2-0 up to the 73rd minute. Corey Cyrus scored moments before the close of the first half, before an in-form Darren Alexis doubled up for the reigning SFA champions in the 67th minute. 

The Tobago club, playing away from home, surged forward and earned a key point after goals from Vernon Wilson and Akeilon Murphy in the 73rd and 87th minutes, respectively.

Reigning champion Guaya United’s trip to Tobago’s 1976 FC Phoenix was postponed.

On Sunday, when match day six kicks off, four games will face postponement due to flight issues, while another, NLCB La Horquetta’s trip to YTC Ground, Arouca, against FC Santa Rosa, will be postponed due to the unavailability of the ground. 

The three matches to be played are: Joe Public versus Coosal’s Las Lomas United at the Marvin Lee Stadium, from 4 pm; WASA FC versus Real Maracas FC at WASA Ground, St Joseph, from 5 pm and Defence Force versus Malabar FC at Macqueripe Youth Camp, from 4 pm.


 WASA FC 4 (Damien Pompey 15th, Kirth Hutchins 35th, Stern John 57th, Ethan Robinson 60th) v Joe Public FC 0

 Coosal’s Las Lomas Utd 2 (Dion Lewis 43rd) v Travis Joseph 67th) v T&T Defence Force 2 (Jahvon Neptune 19th, Khalid Chrichlow 25th)

 Club Sando 4 (Kern Cupid 43rd, Kerron Mitchell 58th, Akeem Humphrey 65th, Andre Quashie 90th+2) v Real Maracas 2 (Shaquille Smith 77th, Dillon Bartholomew 88th)

 Siparia Spurs 3 (Andy London 20th, Shevon Frederick 76th, Denzil Garcia 90th pen) v Malabar FC 2 (Kevon Woodley 6th, Gorean Highley 25th)

 Petrotrin Palo Seco 2 (Corey Cyrus 41st, Darren Alexis 67th) v Bethel United 2 (Vernon Wilson 73th, Akeilon Murphy 87th)

 Stokely Vale 2 (Dereme Williams 7th, 47th) v FC Santa Rosa 1 (Rashad Griffith 13th)

 NLCB La Horquetta SA 4 (og (Sherlon Phillips) 18th, Kern Roberts 36th, Kerron St Cyr 62nd, Kevin Mulzac 84th) v D’Lime Bar Goal City 2 (Kayode Legall 33rd, Akini Ferguson 89th pen)


Teams Pld W D L F A Pts

WASA FC 5 4 0 1 16 5 12

Petrotrin Palo Seco 5 3 2 0 14 8 11

Club Sando 5 3 1 1 11 8 10

Siparia Spurs 5 3 1 1 11 10 10

NLCB La Horquetta SA 4 3 0 1 11 7 9

T&T Defence Force 4 1 3 0 10 7 6

Stokely Vale 4 2 0 2 5 4 6

FC Santa Rosa 5 1 2 2 5 6 5

Malabar FC 3 1 1 1 5 5 4

Goal City FC 3 1 1 1 4 5 4

1976 FC Phoenix 1 1 0 0 2 1 3

Las Lomas United 3 0 1 2 3 5 1

Bethel United 3 0 1 2 4 7 1

Real Maracas FC 4 0 1 3 5 11 1

Guaya United 3 0 1 2 2 9 1

Joe Public FC 5 0 1 4 4 13 1



User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.