You are here

Carib Great Race 2014 Total Monster to put on a show

Saturday, August 23, 2014
Defending champion Total Monster will go up against a field of 21 boats when the Carib Great Race takes off from Port-of-Spain this morning in an attempt to repeat as champion.

The long-awaited showdown between defending champion Total Monster and its peers in the 130 mph A Class will be the main attraction when the 47th Annual Carib Great Race takes off from Port-of-Spain this morning. 

The 46-foot craft, driven by Joey Sabeeney, throttled by Peter Peake and navigated by Daniel Peake, won the event in its third try last year after failing to finish in 2011 and 2012. Its bid for a second title will be threatened by the 17-time winning crew on Mr Solo and relative newcomer Paramount, a 50’ Mystic Catamaran whose only campaign ended prematurely along the North Coast two years ago. “We have the best chance of any boat in the race,” said Peake yesterday. “The others are all sophisticated but we’re ahead of them in preparations and we’re the bigger, better and stronger boat.” He said he was expecting a lot of drama on the water today. “The conditions on the North Coast are calm but we know that can change overnight. When it’s calm we get a fast race and a fast race means a lot of boats are going to break down.”

Meanwhile, Mr Solo Navigator Gino Fusco felt his team could keep Monster at bay. “We’re not worried about the Monster,” he joked. “If it sticks its head out of the water we will chop it off.”
However, he was less certain about Paramount. “It’s a dark horse. We don’t know too much about it, so we’ll keep it in the corner of our eye in case it does something brilliant.” Also in the running will be 2011 and 2012 champ Fire One, who will go up against Stampede in the 120 mph B Class. There will also be fierce competition among the smaller boats for honours in the D (95 mph), E (80 mph), F (70 mph) and G (60 mph) classes. 

In the absence of last year’s winner Stinging Metal, the D Class will be contested between Sheriff Lobo, a 29’ Deep V helmed by Justin Lennard, Ultra Rush, a 38’ Bowen piloted by father and son duo Sheldon and Larry Edghill, and Chris Gone Wilder, a 36’ Cigarette Hull owned by Chris Ramasawak. Reigning E Class champ Heat Wave will also sit out this year, opening up the field to several eager competitors including three-time class champ Hero III, a 23’ Ocke Mannerfelt set to debut his newly-installed Volvo DPX high speed drive, brothers Victor and Richard Tardieu, making a record 35th appearance on the 31’ Bowen White Heat, class points leader Elixir, a 30” Motion Catamaran driven by Marcus Gomez, and Energiza, a 38’ Bowen stepping into the class for the first time after securing the F Class two years in a row.

In all 22 boats have signed up to take part in the event, which will finish in Scarborough after 115 miles on the open water.

A CLASS (130 mph)
Boat    Driver    Throttleman    Navigator
Monster    Joey Sabeeney    Peter Peake    Daniel Peake
Mr Solo    Kenneth Charles    Darin Marshall    Gino Fusco
Paramount    Jason Laing    Donald Webster    Rajesh Harradan

B CLASS (120 mph)
Fire One    James Hadeed    Guy Costa
Stampede    Lee Pollonais    Jason Pollonais    Clint Chew

C Class (110 mph)
Global Warmer    Mark Bartlett    Scott Pollonais

D Class (95 mph)
Sheriff Lobo    Justin Lennard    Shameel Mohammed 
Rush    Alan Rouse    Larry Edghill    Dirk Phillips
Chris Gone Wild    Curtis Charles    Jeffrey Simmons    Chris Ramsawack

E Class (80 mph)
Boat    Driver    Throttleman    Navigator
Hero III    Hero Boodram    Jeffrey Singh
White Heat    Viuctor Tardieu    Richard Tardieu    Robert Tardieu
Elixir    Marcus Gomez    Brent Branker
Energiza    Sheldon Edghill    Anthony Brash

F Class (70 mph)
Rite Formula    Crighton Johnson    Justin Keizer
Extreme Measures    Jonathan Mouttet    Jonathan Tardieu
Cynisca    Trevor Sun    David Frost

G Class (60 mph)
Matrix Reloaded    Renaldo Xavier    Ricaldo Belmontes
Chris Gone Wild    Ricardo Garcia    Ross Garcia
Infusion IV    Neil Samaroo    Haivel-Ann Boodram    Omkar Narine
Wethead    Andrew Sa Gomes    Jonathan McKenzie
Outcast    Chad Viera    Tristan Gioannetti


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.