You are here

Elcock pedals to road series win

Tuesday, January 26, 2016
Barbadian and Team Drive Phase Sport cyclist Russell Elcock celebrates as he wins the second leg of the Road Series, on Sunday. PHOTO COURTESY RL PHOTOGRAPHY

Barbadian and Team Drive Phase Sport (DPS) cyclist Russell Elcock snatched the second leg of the T&T Cycling Federation (TTCF) Road Series on a windy course in South Trinidad, on Sunday.

Elcock defeated his Barbados counterpart Jamol Eastmond (Heatwave) in a sprint finish in front of the Brian Lara Stadium, Tarouba, after a challenging 113km circuit which took cyclists between Ghandi Village and Claxton Bay three times. 

Much like road series one on January 10, within the first 20km, Elcock found himself once again in a dangerous break along with national cyclist Varun Maharajh (Sonics), Eastmond and Barbadian Phillip Clarke (Unattached). 

Maharajh was dropped from the leaders at the halfway stage as the trio of Bajans piled on the pressure into the central cross winds. As they neared the last 500 metres along the Gasparillo By-Pass Road, it was a flat out sprint between Elcock and Eastmond. 

The 2015 Caribbean Road Time Trial Bronze medallist’s exuberance with the win was evident as he punched the air with his right fist while screaming to the top of his lungs in excitement. His victory came in a time of 2:48:21, at an average speed of just about 40km per hour. 

Elcock’s Team DPS team-mate Jymes Bridges of Antigua and Barbuda finished third as he steered off Clarke to the finish line. Stephen Alexander (Team Foundation) was the first T&T cyclist to finish in fifth, three minutes behind the winners. Elcock now moves four points clear in the Road Series standings ahead of Clarke, who has ten points and leg one winner Adam Alexander (T&T/Team Foundation) with nine points. 

Tyler Cole (Team DPS) was a cut above the rest in the junior men’s category, defeating second place Lorenzo Orosco (Breakaway Cycling Club) by over four minutes, while Jabari Whiteman (Southclaine) outsprinted Enrique De Comarmond (Heatwave) to take the juveniles event which travelled a shorter distance of 75km. 

Teniel Campbell (Team DPS) continues to impress with a strong win in the women’s open category, while the battle in the Masters 40-49 and Masters 50-59 categories are heating up with just one point separating first and second in each category. The TTCF thanked Breakaway Cycling Club for sponsoring the event and ensuring that all the cyclists get the competition that they need. 


1 Russell Elcock - Team DPS - 2:48:21
2 Jamol Eastmond - Heatwave - 2:48:22
3 Jymes Bridges - Team DPS - 2:49:10
4 Phillip Clarke - Unattached - 2:49:11
5 Stephen Alexander - Team Foundation - 2:51:35


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.