You are here

Red Force crumbles to Jaguars spin

Tuesday, February 16, 2016

GEORGETOWN—Guyana Jaguars spinners, led by Veerasammy Permaul, put the T&T Red Force in a spin, on the final day of their sixth round match in the Regional First Class championship at the National Stadium here yesterday. Permaul took 4-45, as the Jaguars romped to victory  by 105 runs, after setting the Red Force 303 runs for victory. 

Declaring at their overnight score of 244-4, the Jaguars were never threatened in the face of another sub standard batting performance from the Red Force. The chase never got off the ground despite a half century from Guyanese Narsingh Deonarine (57).

Both openers Kyle Hope (8) and Imran Khan (10) were back in the pavillion with only 21 runs on the board, with Hope being bowled by Raymon Reifer and Khan following in similar fashion to Keon Joseph. 

Thereafter, the Guyanese trio of spinners led by Permaul, went to work with the left arm spinner removing both Yannic Cariah (9) and skipper Jason Mohammed (2) to leave T&T tottering at 41-4.

Leg spiner Devendra Bishoo (2-56) soon got  into the act, removing Yannick Ottley (10) before off spinner Gudakesh Motie accounted for both Evin Lewis (16) and Steven Katwaroo (19).

Deonarine, who faced 141 balls and struck five fours in his battling innings was Permaul’s third victim as T&T plunged to 147 for 8. T&T’s best partnership of 40 was shared between Rayard Emrit (48) and Marlon Richards (11) for the ninth wicket. Emrit struck nine fours in his 51-ball innings before being caught on the boundary off Bishoo, and  Permaul fittingly wrapped up the innings by removing Richards.

The Jaguars earned 16 points for the result while T&T collected three bonus points.



Guyana Jaguars vs T&T Red Force  
JAGUARS 1st Inns 237
RED FORCE 1st Inns 179
JAGUARS 2nd Inns 244-4 decl
RED FORCE 2nd Inns (target: 303 runs)

K Hope b Reifer     8
Imran Khan b Joseph     10
Y Cariah c Chanderpaul b Permaul     9
N Deonarine c(sub) Bacchus b Permaul    57
J Mohammed c wkp Bramble b Permaul     2
Y Ottley c Motie b Bishoo     10
E Lewis c Chanderpaul b Motie     16
S Katwaroo c and b Motie     19
R Emrit c Joseph b Bishoo     48
M Richards lbw b Permaul     11
J Jagessar not out    0
Extras (b1, nb6)     7
TOTAL (all out, 69 overs)     197
Fall of wickets: 1-16, 2-21, 3-37, 4-41, 5-75, 6-101, 7-127, 8-147, 9-187, 10-197.
Bowling: Joseph 11-4-19-1 (nb3), Reifer 10-2-31-1, Bishoo 15-1-56-2 (nb3), Permaul 19-5-45-4, Motie 14-2-45-2. Result: Jaguars won by 105 runs. Man-of-the-Match: Vishaul Singh.


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.