You are here

Borel is favourite for historic 5th award

Sunday, March 13, 2016
Sportswoman of the Year 2014 Cleopatra Borel, right, with other nominees of the 2015 First Citizens Sports Foundation Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year at Friday’s pre-awards medal ceremony held at Queen’s Hall in St Ann’s, Port-of-Spain, yesterday. The awardees were scheduled to be announced tonight at the awards ceremony at the same venue. PHOTO: SEAN NERO

Shot putter Cleopatra Borel will make history if she is named the 2015 First Citizens Sports Foundation Sportswoman of the Year tonight at the awards ceremony at the Queen’s Hall in Port of Spain. The function, which will be held under the patronage of President Dr Anthony Carmona, starts at 8 pm.

Last year, Borel matched Badminton player Debra O’Connor (1985, 1986, 1990, 1993) and swimmer Siobhan Cropper (1994, 1997, 1998, 1999), in winning the top award four times - 2002, 2007, 2010 and 2014.

The Moruga-born athlete is among four former winners looking to repeat including Sportman of the Year nominees George Bovell III, Keshorn Walcott and Roger Daniel in a field of 54 athletes (29 men and 25 women) nominated by their respective sporting association at the ceremony, which has time and again proven itself to be the most glamorous event on the T&T sporting calendar. 

The FC Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year awards are bestowed onto outstanding men’s and women’s athletes who have contributed to the development and recognition of sport, not only in T&T, but at an international level.

Two of the quartet have won it more than once including shooter Daniel and 2004 Olympic bronze medallist swimmer Bovell, have each won twice. Daniel was the awardee in 2010 and 2011 and Bovell in 2004 and 2014. Walcott, the London 2012 Olympic javelin gold medal winner, captured the men’s top award in 2012.

In addition to the top nation’s top individual sporting award, the Jeffrey Stollmeyer Award for the best sporting administration and Lystra D Lewis Award for the Team of the Year will also be presented on the night while the WOW moments which was first introduced in 2009 will again be among the highlights. These moments have been chosen by the media as the top performances of the year.

Sport        Athlete

Amateur Boxing    Nigel Carlan Thomas Paul
Automobile Sports    Marc Gill/Maria Tara Paratapsingh
Badminton    Alistair Espinoza/Avril Plaza-Marcelle
Body Building    Kelton Thomas/Vanessa Hill
Boxing    Nigel Carlan Thomas Paul
Canoe/Kayak     Satyam Maharaj/Keian Huggins
Chess    Kevin Cupid/Aditi Soondarsingh
Cricket    Darren Bravo/Britney Cooper
Cycling    Njisane Nicholas Phillips/Jodi Goodridge
Football    Kenwyne Jones/Arin King
Golf    Talin Rajendranath/Monifa Sealy
Gymnastics    Marisa Dick
Hockey    Andrey Rocke/Alana Lewis
Horse Racing    Prayven Badrie
Judo    Christopher George
Karate    Edward Ryan Rajmoolie/Dr. Nicole Lambie
Netball    Rhonda John-Davis 
Paralympics    Akeem Stewart
Powerlifting    Adrian Barry Brown/Salisha Rahim
Rally    Donald Gopaul
Rugby    Agboola Silverthorn/Ornella George
Sailing    Andrew Lewis/Kelly Ann Arrindell
Shooting    Roger Daniel/Marsha Bullen-Jones
Squash    Kale Alexander Wilson/Charlotte Knaggs
Swimming    George Bovel III/Cherelle Thompspn
Table Tennis    Aaron Junior Wilson/Linda Paratap-Booddhan
 Taekwondo    Edson Breedy
 Target Archery    Parasan Ramsmair/Neela Cezair
 Tennis    Vaughn Wilson/Breana Stampfli
 Track & Field    Keshorn Walcott & Machel Cedenio/Cleopatra Borel
 Triathlon    Jason Castelloe/Jenna Ross
 Volleyball    Fabien Whitfield/Sinead Jack


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.