You are here

Robertson-Forrester is East school Bball MVP

Tuesday, July 17, 2018
Most Valuable Player of the Under-20 division, Kalique Robertson-Forrester, eight from left, poses with the other awardees and officials at the Secondary Schools Basketball League East Zone prize-giving ceremony at the conference room of the Maloney Indoor Sports Arena, recently. With him are Israel Sylvester, from left, Kenyatta Alfred (partly hidden), Alexis Brown, Phyisical Education and Curriculum officer assigned to basketball in the Ministry of Sports, Jamal Prince, Joseiah Franklyn, Vharyon Watson, Sogo Somorin, Kalique Robertson-Forrester, Jovan George, Jelani Blackette, Samuel Waldron, Luke Waldron, Nicholai Mills, Jaheim Evelyn, Kern Goerge (Trinity East coach), Stefan Dillon (Tunapuna Secondary coach), Tyrique Williams, Osei Boodoo, Jonathon Adams and Rico Bhola.

Kalique Robertson-Forrester of Holy Cross College was recognised as the “Most Valuable Player” (MVP) in the boys’ Under-20 and Under division in the Secondary Schools Basketball League East Zone, recently. The awards ceremony took place at the Maloney Indoor Sports Arena. His outstanding play helped his team capture the league title, so too his teammate Samuel Waldron, who was named the “Most Improved Player” honours.

Tunapuna Secondary’s Nickolai Mills was honoured as the “Most Promising Player”. He also picked up the prize for the highest individual score in one match, 44 points.

The trio brought much excitement to the East School’s league that had their supporters at the edge of their seats in quite a few matches and of course the finals in each division. Robertson-Forrester, Waldron and Mills were duly celebrated for their respective contributions, later being named on the 12-member All-Star team.

The leading players in the 17 and under division were also named on the All-Star team as well including Jovan George of Trinity College East, who was honoured as the top player and his teammate Jamal Prince, the most improved player while Jaheim Evelyn (Tunapuna Secondary) received the promising player award.

Both George and Prince were vital in Trinity East being crowned the champion of the U-17 division. In second place was Tunapuna while Holy Cross finished third. The top three finishers in each division received a trophy and 12 medals. At the function, officials of the League used the opportunity to recognise and express its appreciation for the support by Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs, the manager and staff of the Maloney Indoor Regional Sporting Complex and the media.


15 and under division:
1 Trinity College East; 2 Holy Cross; 3 El Dorado East
17 and under Division:
1 Trinity East; 2 Tunapuna Secondary; 3 Holy Cross
20 and under Division:
1 Holy Cross; 2 Tunapuna Secondary; 3 Trinity east
Individual awards
15 and under Division
Most Valuable Player: Soga Somorin (Trinity East)
Most Promising Player: Jelani Blackette (El Dorado East)
Most Improved Player: Luke Waldron (Holy Cross)
17 and under
Most Valuable Player: Jovan George (Trinity East)
Most Promising Player: Jaheim Evelyn (Tunapuna Secondary)
Most Improved Player: Jamal Prince (Trinity East)
20 and under
Most Valuable Player: Kalique Robertson Forrester (Holy Cross)
Most Promising Player: Nickolai Mills (Tunapuna Secondary)
Most Improved Player: Samuel Waldron (Holy Cross)
Special Awards
13 and under/Form One best player: Christian Zoe (Hillview College)
Lone women’s player (U-17 and U-20): Jerryn Donald (North Eastern College)
All Star Team:
Kalique Robertson Forrester (Holy Cross), Nickolai Mills (Tunapuna Secondary), Samuel Waldron (Holy Cross), Soga Somorin (Trinity East), Jelani Blackette (El Dorado East), Luke Waldron (Holy Cross), Jovan George (Trinity East), Jaheim Evelyn (Tunapuna Secondary), Jamal Prince (Trinity East), Josiah James (North Eastern College), Trevor Joseph (Mt Hope Secondary), Alexus Worrell (Mt Hope Secondary)
Highest individual score in one game:
17 and under: Nickolai Mills (Tunapuna Secondary) 44 points
Most Oustanding Coaches
1 Kern George (Trinity East)
2 Kenyatta Alfred (Holy Cross)
Top performing manager: Clifford Wong (Manzanilla Secondary)
Most Disciplined school: Tunapuna Secondary
Recognition of magnicifent work done by match officials: Ahkeem Boyd; Ahkeel Boyd; Latalya Tinto


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.